11 September 2018

Sigitas Parulskis (Lithuania)

Sigitas Parulskis (b. 1965 in Obeliai, Lithuania) is a poet, playwright, essayist, novelist and translator. He majored in Lithuanian language and literature at Vilnius University. Parulskis works include several books of poetry, several books of essays and six novels. He is also an author of several plays and scripts for theatre. In 1991 Parulskis won the Zigmas Gėlė Award for the best literary debut of the year. In 1995 his achievement in the book of poetry Mirusiųjų (Of the Dead) was recognized by the prestigious Yotvingian Award. His play Iš gyvenimo vėlių (From the Lives of the Dead) received the 1996 Kristoforas Award for the best young artist’s theatre play debut. The novel Trys sekundės dangaus (Three Seconds of Heaven) was recognized as the best book of the year and was awarded the Lithuanian Writer’s Union Prize. In 2004 Parulskis received the National Prize in Literature. He has won the following international awards: Der Stiftung Preussishe Seehandlung – 2009; LCB (Berlin), Bank Austria Literaris – 2009, Kulturkontakt, Vienna; H.C. Artmann stipendium – 2010, Salzburg. Sigitas Parulskis has translated into Lithuanian works by A. Chekhov, D. Kharms, L. Andreyev, Y. Brodsky, O. Mandelshtam, V. Yerofeyev, D. Gorchov, A. Turgenev, S. Shepard and others. Works by Parulskis have been translated into Latvian, Finnish, Italian, Polish, Czech, French, German, Greek, Swedish, Norwegian, Russian, English and other languages. He lives in Vilnius.




Lietuvos kultūros taryba
Lietuvos Respublikos kutūros ministerija
EU: Creative Europe